Ph.D. Students


Mr. Nityasagar Jena, SRF


M.Sc. (Physics): Pondicherry University

Research Interest:

Optimizing nanoelectromechanical energy harvesting in 2D nanomaterials and nanopiezotronic response

Upcoming Position: 

Upcoming position (from March, 2020 onwards: Postdoctoral Fellow on the European Union’s Graphene Flagship project, Horizon 2020, between Germany, France and Belgium. 

It happens to be the biggest scientific research initiative in Europe with a budget of > €11 billion.

He has submitted his Ph.D. thesis. He is held up by the current pandemic situation  in joining the coveted Postdoctoral position

Ms. Ashima Rawat received her M.Sc. in Physics (2014-2016) from Punjab University and B.Sc. (2011-2014) from Punjab University. After the successful completion of her M.Sc., she joined Prof. Abir De Sarkar's research group as a JRF in August, 2016.  She is now a Senior Research Fellow (SRF) since August 2018. She has been the recipient of the best Poster Award in two ACS sponsored Conferences held in 2019.

  1. ACS sponsored 6th International Conference on Advanced Nanomaterials and Nanotechnology (ICANN 2019) held at IIT, Guwahati in 18-21 December, 2019

  2. ACS sponsored Conference ICAN-2019 at IIITM, Gwalior in January, 2019

She has been participated in an International Conference Computational School on Electronic Excitations in Novel Materials Using the Yambo Code” held in the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy between 27th and 31st January, 2020 with travel support and Health Insurance coverage. Ms. Ashima's major interest lies in Tuning electrical conductivity and electronic properties in 2D nanomaterials.

Ms. Ashima Rawat, SRF


M.Sc. (Physics): Punjab University

Mr. Manish Kumar Mohanta



M.Sc. (Physics): IIT (ISM) Dhanbad

Mr. Manish Kumar Mohanta joined Prof. Abir De Sarkar's Computational Nanoscience research group as a CSIR-JRF in January 2018. Prior to that, he did experimental work for about a year, as per his initial assignment at INST, Mohali. He has done his M.Sc. (2015-2017) in Physics from IIT (ISM) Dhanbad. Mr. Manish's research mainly focuses on theoretical modelling of applied nano materials to investigate electronic, optical, mechanical and thermal transport properties for device-based application using First-principle calculation.

Among others publications, he has six paper in peer reviewed journals as the first author so far.

Mr. Raihan Ahammed completed his M.Sc. (2012-2014) in Physics from IIT Madras and B.Sc. (2010-2012) from Calcutta University. He joined Prof. Abir De Sarkar's group in 2018 as a Ph.D. student. 

Research Interest: Mr. Raihan, among other things, works intensively on computational modeling of two-dimensional materials and their hetero-structures to study nano-piezotronic and opto-electronic properties.

Mr. Raihan Ahammed



M.Sc. (Physics) : IIT Madras

Mr. Pradip Nandi did his M.Sc. (2015-2017) in Physics from IIT Guwahati and B.Sc. (2012-2015) from Bankura Christian, Burdwan University, West Bengal.

He is currently working on several projects mainly focusing on piezoelectronics in 2D materials.

Mr. Pradip Nandi, JRF


M.Sc. (Physics): IIT Guwahati

Ms. Anu Arora joined Prof. Abir De Sarkar's group as a CSIR-JRF in 2020 upon the successful completion of her M.Sc. (2017-2019) in Physics from University Of Delhi and B.Sc. (2014-2017) from Shri Guru Tegh Bahadur Khalsa College, University Of Delhi.

She is currently working on different kinds of energy conversion in low dimensional materials.

Ms. Anu Arora


M.Sc. (Physics): Delhi University

Mr. Amal Kishore has received his M.Sc. (2016-2018) in Physics from NIT Durgapur and B.Sc. (2013-2016) from Shivaji College, University of Delhi. He joined Prof. Abir De Sarkar's group as a Ph.D. student in 2020.

Research Interest: Ab initio insights into energy harvesting at the nanoscale

Mr. Amal Kishore, JRF

M.Sc. (Physics): NIT Durgapur

Project Fellow


Ms. Fathima has received her M.Sc. in Physics from Central University, Kerala and B.Sc. from Sree Narayan College for Women (SNCW), Kpllam, Kerala. 

She is now a Project JRF at INST under the supervision of Prof. Abir De Sarkar. 

Research InterestNanohybrid materials for low-power digital data processing and memory devices

Ms. Fathima, JRF

M.Sc. (Physics): Central University of Kerala



Dr. Dimple

Postdoctoral Fellow

CNRS, Nancy, France

Research Interest:

Ab initio investigation on (i) scavenging waste heat into electricity, (ii) Solar energy harvesting in artificial photosynthesis and (iii) piezoelectric properties in 2D nanomaterials

Academic background:

Dr. Dimple completed his Ph.D. from IISER (INST), Mohali under the supervision of Prof. Abir De Sarkar in November 2019. He had joined Prof. De Abir Sarkar's group as a JRF in August 2014 upon the completion of his M.Sc. in Physics from NIT Jalandhar.

Research Interest:

Ab initio studies on activation and conversion of hydrocarbons and CO2 molecules on nanomaterials

Academic Background:

Dr. Seema Gautam joined Prof. Abir De Sarkar's group at INST, Mohali as a National Posdoctoral Fellow and worked broadly on conversion of hydrocarbons and CO2 molecules on nanomaterials, from August 2015 to April 2019. 

Dr. Seema Gautam

Awarded National Postdoctoral Fellowship, DST

Govt. of India 

Welcome to Abir Research Lab _Computational Nanoscience